Learning a Valuable Lesson From Getting Rejected By Amazon

And how I find the real purpose in pursuing my path

1_I_8P4ygoWQ7mDDtvbRHR0Q.jpeg

Recently I got an interview with Amazon. Before you were all excited for me I didn’t get the job.

A got a mail from one of the Recruiter from Amazon on LinkedIn Regarding job in amazon as a Software development engineer. I have to first take a test in Hacker rank which is pretty easy. Then I got a call from Amazon Hr. Regarding Interview Scheduling it did seem too good to be true finally I get a chance to get into my dream company

Before the interview, I revised hard. I spent hours going over their fundamental principles, Data Structure System Design , Networking , DBMS. I had never done this much work for a job interview before. I had even rehearsed the STAR answering technique they had suggested to me, creating trigger words and phrases so I wouldn’t be flummoxed between the interview.

With hindsight, I see just how beneficial it was for my mindset. …

The Day Come(Virtual interviews)

11:00 am ready to go

The time flew by I stumbled once or twice but overall it went well I was very confident at that time and projected myself and answers all the questions as asked.

Before I knew it interviews were completed. In the end, I enjoy very much amazon interviewers are so good it doesn’t feel like I am giving an interview it’s like am talking to my friends.

I assumed it to be a great success. It was just a matter of waiting for their offer.

I felt like a kid awaiting his exam results once again.

Result day

I got the email. I saw ‘Amazon’ on my phone, and my heart started beating. A sick feeling rose in my stomach. Anxiousness crept up on me as the email loaded up.

Could it be? Well, no. It was rejection.

immediately my mind goes blank and I felt anger and confusion. Why? I was baffled. I was sure that this time, things were going to play out differently. Like a fool, I’d assumed I was guaranteed to get the job.

The pain that I was now feeling wasn’t unfounded. Recent studies have shown that people experiencing social rejection display the same brain patterns as physical pain.

It’s hardly surprising. Humans tend to crave acceptance, and I was no different. And now, I was upset I didn’t get accepted. I felt angry and embarrassed.

Usually, I don’t get like this after being turned down. I’ve become very accomplished at suppressing things. I don’t profess that to be a healthy trait, but it’s easier than having my hopes brought crashing down every other day. My tactic when applying for jobs, was usually to assume the worst and hope for the best. That way, my expectations can only be exceeded, right?

Wrong

Expecting the worst only served to lower my ambitions. It was harming my performance. Subconsciously, I was starting to think: can I do this? Am I even capable?

But, in this instance, I took my advice. The more I thought about the interview and its outcome, the more my expectations rose. It had gone well. I met most of the requirements. I am intelligent, degree-educated. So why not?

That is what made the rejection the worst one I’ve had to deal with. And yet, that is why I am so grateful.

What Rejection taught me

Getting turned down doesn’t necessarily mean you aren’t good enough — it just means you aren’t a good fit for them.

It took me a few weeks to realize this. I spent that time wallowing in self-pity, telling myself over and over that I wasn’t good enough. I confess that I even let out a tear when I thought about the rejection email.

I come to know that it isn’t always about you sometimes so extra circumstances come

.being over-qualified (it happens to me 8 Times) .the job is no longer available(i lost count of that) .you just aren’t a good fit. For instance, my strengths lie in Software and Full stack web .development but some time they say your skills are not matched per their current need Now though, I can see that it’s a matter of incompatibility rather than inability.

Rejection teaches you where your skills lie and where they don’t. Besides, if I had got the job, I wouldn’t be writing this article. I wouldn’t say I believe in fate or destiny, but it’s curious to think how different my life would be if had I got the job.

Hell, even Steve Jobs says

I didn’t see it then, but it turned out that getting fired from Apple was the best thing that could have ever happened to me. The heaviness of being successful was replaced by the lightness of being a beginner again, less sure about everything. It freed me to enter one of the most creative periods of my life.

Although on a comparatively much larger scale, Jobs puts forward a valuable lesson. Rejection frees me to pursue another path. And that excites me. Who knows where that might lead?

Consequently, here I am. still searching

Thank you Amazon, I appreciate it.